Posted by: Mayu | June 3, 2008

Did you know… (part 5: Lucky Cats)


…that the Lucky Cats have got different meanings?

Lucky Cats are called “Maneki Neko” in Japan and it means “beckoning cat”.
They beckon for example for money, good fortune, long life or health.
The higher the paw of the cat, the higher the fortune.
Right-handed cats beckon for wealth or health, left-handed cats for more people or customers.(well, I think the result is the same xD )


This Lucky Cat from ACWW is holding a gold coin saying “千万両 Sen man ryo – 10.000.000 Ryo (ryo is a old Japanese monetary unit)”. The white cat with black and orange patches are the most popular Maneki Neko’s in Japan and stands for wealth and good fortune.


The Lucky Black Cat is holding the same coin and beckons for good health, too – but the black colour shall even keep away evil spirits.


The Left Lucky Cat invites people into your house or shop and his coin says: “開運 Kai un – Better fortune”


The Lucky Gold Cat beckons also kai-un and its colour stands for money and wealth. It’s the biggest lucky cat in ACWW, it’s the only one which you can’t put it on the table… 😆

This is my personal Maneki Neko, it can be used as a piggy bank. I like this one very much, my Japanese Aunt has given me that as a present 🙂 .

Responses

  1. cool
    i like cats
    how do you get them

  2. Oh you can buy them at Nook’s, just have a look for them 😉

  3. I’m so happy because yesterday, there was the Gold Lucky Cat on sale at Nooks, so I bought it, and at Crazy Redd’s the same day, there was a Lefty Lucky Cat, which I bought too, and now both are on display on my living room! 😛

    • lol luckyy

  4. hehe cool! never noticed but we have one in our basement too,,, lol

    • aww also a piggy bank? lol

      • My friends mom says that Hello Kitty is used for the same reason. Is that true?

        • Oh I don’t know Tammie it’s the first time I’ve heard about that Hello Kitty has also her origins in Lucky Cats.

  5. Its nice. I dont have think on this before 😀

  6. Very cute! I’m going to look for a lucky cat in acww. I think I’ve only seen one of them in Tom Nook’s store.

    Nice blog, Mayu! 🙂

  7. Cute Cats!!!! ❤

    I'm Japanese too High Five!!!

  8. ive got all the lucky cats and tri force bu not master sword 😦 its really hard to find

  9. Cool, always wondered what those cats were for, because I have the golden one (bought it at Redd’s and it costed loads -_-) and I think either the right or left handed one I’m not sure. Thanks 🙂

  10. Howdy, There’s no doubt that your web site may be having browser compatibility issues. Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, fantastic blog!

  11. When I was 4 I had one of them but I didnt know they were soo good so I buried it and now I cant find it


Leave a Reply

Categories

